Thread: Standing on the shoulders of giants

Guild Novice Facebook Connected

Default Standing on the shoulders of giants

Hi there. I'm really new to cartography, but have jumped in at the deep end.

I downloaded photoshop yesterday and I have a wacom tablet coming tomorrow.

I figured it would be healthy to ask for any tips, from the people who have probably already made mistakes and thought 'God I wish I'd known that when I began'

I've had a good trawl through the tutorials and had a go at making some maps already but I figure it's best for me to learn fully once my tablet arrives.

So any photoshop presets, or tablet presets? And little gems of advice which will make me learning easier?

Thanks you Hope to be here for a long time!

I can't think of much. Settings will depend on what tablet you got and how you like to work. I think you will figure those out pretty fast because some repetitive things will bug you so you will just go make the change.

Using PS I would say a big help would be to know how to use masks and work in a non-destructive way. I think we have all at one time or another had to burn a few hours redoing something we trashed because we didn't know better at the time. Masks can allow you to go back and make changes without really having to hack up your artwork. There is a great tutorial in here somewhere but if you already know about them then no need.

It might take a few tries to get used to the feeling of the pen since as good as it is, it's not the same as paper or canvas. Not knowing what you are coming from it's hard to say but just try using it for a while. I know some folks here have used the stylus instead of the mouse to play some games to force themselves to get used it.

Welcome aboard!
    “When it’s over and you look in the mirror, did you do the best that you were capable of? If so, the score does not matter. But if you find that you did your best you were capable of, you will find it to your liking.” -John Wooden