Thread: Hello all, new here

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Hello all, new here

Hello everyone,

I'm a very novice cartographer but hoping to get better. I'm mostly interested in learning how to make cool star maps for a science fiction RPG campaign my group want me to run.
    So far I've dabbled a little with inkscape and GIMP and I'm looking forward to improving so I can create some cooler looking stuff.

Guild Expert Facebook Connected XCali's Avatar

Welcome welcome!

Such a fun hobby Cartography is! Take it from someone who couldn't draw worth a heck and hardly put together a map when I started, keep at it and you will learn to make maps. There will be highs, there will be lows, but keep challenging yourself and your skills will improve.
    I map mostly in GIMP, so a great place to start Sometimes a big learning curve, but there is always some new neat trick to learn to enhance your maps.

For Science Fiction, I can point you to a previous challenge:
    https://www.cartographersguild.com/s...ad.php?t=51469 This was mine, you are free to use this map for your personal campaign

some of the other challenge entries from other people, for some inspiration:
    https://www.cartographersguild.com/s...ad.php?t=51467
    https://www.cartographersguild.com/s...ad.php?t=51445

~ Maps-DriveThruRPG ~Free Maps and Assets ~Current Project~

My web novels
    Instagram handle: instagram.com/omrihope
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ~The heavens declare the glory of God;
    the skies proclaim the work of His hands.
    Day after day they pour forth speech;
    night after night they reveal knowledge.
    ~ Psalm 19

Guild Expert Facebook Connected XCali's Avatar

There are some tips I can give, that might help towards learning how to map a solar system or what not.