Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Completed Isle of the Unknown Explorer

Guild Expert Facebook Connected Tonnichiwa's Avatar

Default Completed Isle of the Unknown Explorer

Hello everyone,

Well, today I have been making a map with a sketching program called Artrage Studio.

Now I'm sure that by now everyone knows that:

1) I use Campaign Cartographer software to draw my maps, and..

2) I am a terrible artist if I am not using Campaign Cartographer..and...

3) I have been wanting to improve my drawing skills.

So, I've been practicing my drawing quite a bit. I started trying to draw straight lines. Then went to circles, triangles, squares, rectangles, ovals, and basically geometric shapes in their simplest form. So after spending a few weeks doing this, today I wanted to try to draw a map and see how my skills have improved.

I have to say, while my new map is nowhere near a professional level of a map at all, I am still pleased with how far I have come. I did not look at any pictures or references of any kind while drawing this map. I just drew from memory. No brushes were used of any kind and I did not have the pencil set to smooth out the lines. It is all drawn by hand using the Artrage Studio on my Wacom tablet.

I'm still having a bit of trouble with trying to do text because I have never really had great handwriting to begin with so the only thing I labelled were the towns.

So the first image is to show how bad of a drawer I used to be, and the second one is my completed map. I have named it the Isle of the Unknown Explorer. Anyway, yay progress
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2016-03-13 03.00.08.jpg 
Views:	68 
Size:	5.72 MB 
ID:	82286   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Isle of the Unkown Explorer.png 
Views:	117 
Size:	915.0 KB 
ID:	82287  

Certainly a lot of improvement! I first maps started like this.. Improvement happens quickly, Keep it up!