Thread: Greetings from South Africa

Guild Applicant

Default Greetings from South Africa

Greetings all,

I call myself "Lányx", I am a hobbyist. This site has intrigued me, with the beautiful fantasy maps. My work, unfortunately, is far more bland and industrial. I sarcastically blame my engineering background, and my OCD for not being into fantasy. I don't really follow Harry Potter, Lord of the rings or Dragons & Dungeons.
    My fictional country takes up a whole continent. The layout of the continents is similar to earth. The exception is that to get from Europe to Asia, the easiest way is to pass through my unnamed continent. It has the rough shape of South America. Hence, its the golden age was the era of steam ship travel, where the country facilitated, and profited from, cross-continental transport of goods and people.
    The planet is 3% smaller (to make 1nm = 1800m) than Earth. Normal laws of physics, mathematics, economics, politics, etc apply. My maps are set in the modern era, with our current technology. My maps are of topographical nature with the above-surface infrastructure and zones overlaid. My current continent exists for the last 13 real-world years. Roughly 3 years ago, I moved my maps to CAD. I hope it is not an offense to give a link to one of my last hand-drawn beauties, hosted by a third party. Leonard's Town can be found here : http://urbangeofiction.stadtkreation...s-Town-17k.jpg.
    I hope to share my knowledge, and my artwork through this site.

Signed,
    Greg.

Community Leader Facebook Connected tilt's Avatar
    Blog Entries