Thread: Hoping to get some feedback

Default Hoping to get some feedback

Hey guys,

I recently started converting maps from old campaigns and other places to a form that I can use on fantasy grounds or roll20 and have been trying to get some feedback on the art style and the technical (file) aspect.

I'm not an artist, nor are any of my friends so the feedback I've received has been pretty generic, "Looks good" "cool." I was hoping that maybe some of you guys with more experience in the mapping department might be so kind as to give me some feedback that is more substantive so that I can improve.

Gridless

Grid

It's a nice start.

The flagstone floor texture is overwhelming some of the details that are more important, particularly the stairs. I'd also knock back the white doors to something no brighter than the brightest parts of the background texture. They're too stark for this style.

Maybe a little bit of a dark glow on the insides of the walls to simulate the way corners self-shadow.

Is the corridor leading from the upper-right chamber to the south a raised walkway over that next room? It look like it's casting some shadow down onto the floor, which is cool, but if that's the case, there should probably be some kind of indication that it's at a higher elevation. Maybe you could indicate elevation by brightness. A difference of perhaps 30% between the lowest and highest points would get the idea across without being too jarring, I think. It might take some experimentation to get something that looks good.
    Bryan Ray, visual effects artist
    http://www.bryanray.name

Welcome to the Guild, DMZeff.