Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: (As yet unnamed) Building a believable conworld

Wip (As yet unnamed) Building a believable conworld

Hi everyone Well... First thing: sorry for bad English, but I am from Poland so English is not my first language and I am still learning it.
    So... Recently my friend asked me to create a world map for our RPG setting that we started working on about one year ago. I agreed but because I always aim for realism I can't just draw few weird-looking continents with pictographic mountain ranges and randomly placed island chains and call it a day. No. I am going to make it as realistic as possible! (Even if it is JUST for RPG!)
    My goal is to create scientifically plausible world (at least in terms of geography), make game-usefull world map and probably separate maps for each continent.
    For now I have this:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	womatwip1.jpg 
Views:	121 
Size:	1.06 MB 
ID:	97176
    (Grey regions are meant to represent mountainous areas) It is just a quick draft with no details - I just wanted to see how will this look like. I think I will keep the shapes and general locations of continents, although these continents feel pretty massive, so maybe I will try to make them a little bit smaller... And probaby I will add another small continent/big island somewhere... And this world is definitely lacking island chains Ok, that will be quite a lot of big changes actually... I don't know... What do you think about it?
    As for tectonics:

Name:	womatwip1tectonics.jpg 
Views:	145 
Size:	1.42 MB 
ID:	97178