Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Aran & Ilan - novel version

Guild Expert Facebook Connected Caenwyr's Avatar

Default Aran & Ilan - novel version

Oh hey all!

Those of you that have followed me a bit w ill probably be struck by horrible waves of déjà-vu when they see this map, and for good reason: I have indeed tried my hand at them before. As a matter of fact, I've been writing a novel for over 18 years now (more than half of my life - yes I'm crazy!) and I just now started doing the rounds past the publishers. I actually found one who's interested! Which means that I'll need a version of my map that's printable in a book, so both colouring and resolution need to be adapted.

Over the years I've done several versions of my main map:

• a hand-drawn version I did at the very beginning:
      Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Erhaniell%u00252520%2526%2520Ilya.jpg 
Views:	95 
Size:	569.3 KB 
ID:	108307
    • a first digitization using Arsheesh's awesome Eriond tutotial

Name:	AWI_political5.jpg 
Views:	186 
Size:	4.63 MB 
ID:	108308
    • a hand-drawn reworking (using a mouse, for Pete's sake!)

Name:	AWI_handdrawn_overhaul14.jpg 
Views:	154 
Size:	4.39 MB 
ID:	108309
    • a re-digitization, now using my own weird, incoherent technique

Name:	AWI_handdrawn_overhaul28.jpg 
Views:	159 
Size:	4.73 MB 
ID:	108310

I also did several city maps for locations on this larger map, and even one building map (which I had a ton of fun with). All interspersed with different maps for private projects or commissions.

And now I'm back to this map again! Only this time I'm gonna try and have it fit on A5 format, and do it all in B&W. Gods have mercy on me...
    Caenwyr Cartography

Check out my portfolio!

Look out! It's a crazy person

This is an interesting series of maps, Caenwyr. If I may say, I think I like the mouse-drawn map the most. Good luck condensing this into A5...

Wingshaw

Formerly TheHoarseWhisperer

Quote Originally Posted by Wingshaw View Post