Thread: City of Cresckov

Map City of Cresckov

Hi everyone. Recently I had some commissions, one of which being a city. Having never done serious city maps before, I had to do some research on how big should a standard house be and it seems to me I might have to do eventually some even more serious research than just browsing the internet. I may actually have to buy books apparently, having so many questions not yet answered...

Still here is what I learned... Apparently a standard medieval house was around 50ft by 25ft. (approximatively 15.25 meters x 7.60 meters).

But as for how the cityscape was built, what kind of people were where (I know smiths were not in the residential area because of the noise, and those working leather and making shoes were outside the walls because of the smell), my knowledge is very limited.

Still, I took the commission and though I am ALMOST done, I feel like I am only beginning a new adventure in mapmaking...

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Cresckov.jpg 
Views:	266 
Size:	2.28 MB 
ID:	110207
    We all wish to create, but do we really create?
    What we draw and what we write is part of us.
    No we do not create, we simply discover who we are.
    **My maps have copyrights**

Well here is the final product that I finished one week ago. Not sure if the layout of the farmlands is good and I think the water is to be worked.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	085BF166-4A32-4487-83CE-6ACA1331C711.jpeg 
Views:	139 
Size:	3.00 MB 
ID:	110374