Thread: Fantasy world map - looking for a world-builder to help with realism/details

Default Fantasy world map - looking for a world-builder to help with realism/details

Hello! I'm a fantasy novelist who will potentially want to commission a large number of maps over time, but the scope of this post is just to cover one. I have created a rough world map and I would like some help making an improved version. This map will only be used internally: the goal is less to create a beautiful image than to nail down all the world's details.

As such, I am looking for someone who likes dealing with details of realism. I have tried to consider tectonic plates and global wind cycles, but I am not an expert. I'm a bit uncertain about the land/water ratio and I can't get the rivers on one continent to work out how I want them. >_< There are also lots of details that cartographers tend to consider that I miss. Though I have one novel written (unpublished) and a ton of ideas already set, at this stage the world is flexible, so I am looking for a partner who likes this sort of thing.

Project Scope: One rough world map with six continents, working from my scanned map.

Style: Irrelevant, as only myself and other people on my team will see it.

Quality: It can be rough and black/white, but needs to cover a moderate level of detail over an entire world.

Time Constraints: Pretty flexible. The first novel is not scheduled for release until I publish several other books.

Copyright: Though I don't need to show anyone, I suppose I'd like reproduction rights on this one. Also, I would ask that you not post it publicly for reasons of spoilers. If we did any future maps together for reader purposes you could of course post those, this is just because the shape of the overall world includes plot information.