Thread: Avemore

Default Avemore

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FANTASY MAP 01 - AVEMORE.jpg 
Views:	202 
Size:	1.93 MB 
ID:	115151

This is my first time posting.
    This is a map I made for practice. I have done more since and created a vague world based on the things I put in the maps. Really fun and inspiring experience.
    I made the map by first inking it out on paper and then adding texture and colour digitally.

I posted the wrong image at first, I hope I have corrected this mistake properly.
    Last edited by Pictsy; 04-29-2019 at 10:37 AM.

Welcome to the Guild Pictsy! These are pretty good for someone new to the craft. I like that you've included fjords. Your lettering is also quite charming. Keep practicing and posting your work.

Cheers,
    -Arsheesh

Community Leader Guild Sponsor Gidde's Avatar

Hi Pictsy, nice first map! I really like what you've done artistically. The colors are great, and the drawing is much MUCH better than mine was when I started. I especially like the town markers.

Your rivers are doing some unfortunate things though. Specifically, you have them splitting up on their way to the ocean instead of joining. That's ok in certain situations (like a swampy delta) but that doesn't seem to be the case here. There's a great sticky in the tutorial area of the forums called "How to get your rivers in the right place" that can help.

Thank you for the encouraging comments.

It's a shame about the rivers. I've got another 18 maps already finished and it shows up frequently. Maybe I should add something to the fluff to justify it?

Speaking of fluff, is it worth posting what I've written alongside my maps? The lore I've done is pretty pedestrian, but drawing out this series of maps inspired a world I had no intention of fleshing out.

Blog Entries

Nice first post map ! Its finished off very well with that border. You ought to enter some of the lite challenges as I think you would do well.