Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: The Ganador thread - really digging down on details

Guild Expert Facebook Connected Caenwyr's Avatar

Default The Ganador thread - really digging down on details

Hey all!

Some of you might still remember my Ganador map from 2017 (don't worry if you don't, I almost forgot about it myself ). I recently saw some awesome high detail city maps pop up, complete with gables and chimneys and cobbled streets etc, and decided to try my hand at one too. But instead of inventing a city from scratch, I went back to an old city map of mine (Ganador!) and zoomed the crap out of it.

Ganador is made up of a bunch of islands. The image below shows the northwestern island, one of the smaller ones with a nice irregular shape. This morning I started drawing outlines of houses on top of it. It's a slow process, but I kinda like the mindless nature of it. I can listen to podcasts and just let my stylus wander over the screen!

Long live podcasts by the way - they have saved me from many a dull and boring day! On a sidenote: any of you guys a fan of podcasts? And if so, which ones?

This is the zoomed-in version of the original map:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Ganador - Sahwyn Island (1a).jpg 
Views:	331 
Size:	2.29 MB 
ID:	116252

And here's what I have at this point:

Name:	Ganador - Sahwyn Island (1b).jpg 
Views:	175 
Size:	524.7 KB 
ID:	116253
    Caenwyr Cartography

Check out my portfolio!

That is going to be spectacular when you've finished it! It's off to a really great start already.

If I may offer a small tip: I think there's a chance that some of your buildings will look a bit too simplified. You have a lot of buildings that are long rectangles, without much variation or interesting features. And, while you also have plenty of buildings that do have a more unique look, it'd be a pity if the 'plain' buildings detract from the overall realism of the map. At least, this is my opinion. I might be alone in thinking this...