Thread: Where can I find references for maps based on real places

Question Where can I find references for maps based on real places

Hello everyone,

I've been making fantasy maps one way or another, but I've wanted to try my hand at making a board game map. Specifically, a map of Europe in 1939.

Thing is, I'm not a professional cartographer and I therefore need some kind of geographic reference to make a roughly accurate map.

What are some good sources for high-resolution blank maps as well as topo maps?

Thanks for the help.

Here's a few I found on David Rumsey's site:

Should be helpful/fine for references. These might not all be public domain—especially the Rand McNally ones.
    Last edited by KMAlexander; 07-30-2019 at 04:33 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by KMAlexander View Post
    Here's a few I found on David Rumsey's site:

Should be helpful/fine for references. These might not all be public domain—especially the Rand McNally ones.
    Thanks, I will keep that in mind. I'm not planning to use these as is however, just as a basis for the general geography.

I guess a follow up question is: what kind of software would I need to generate maps as I need them? If that even exists. The information is out there, surely there's some way of generating a barebones map to use for artistic purposes.

These are going to be very helpful for this project, but what about next time? If you know what I mean.
    Last edited by BrassArt; 07-31-2019 at 08:14 PM. Reason: Adding a question

There's a ton of map-making software out there. But it's all generally focused on making fantasy worlds, not recreating our planet.

I use Adobe products mostly—partly because I've been a designer for 20+ years and that's the software I'm most comfortable with, but it's not the only game in town. Some people prefer Gimp. Others like Affinity's suite. Some use Procreate. Depends on what you want to do.