Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: World of Thra (Dark Crystal): WIP

Default World of Thra (Dark Crystal): WIP

I have been a fan of the Dark Crystal universe since I first saw the movie back in the 80’s.
    The conceptual artwork by Brian Froud inspired me more than a few times in the past for drawings and paintings.
    I have been tinkering with the idea to create a Worldmap of Thra since I started drawing maps a few weeks ago and I have finally taken the big leap
    I bought myself a nice new sheet of beige A2 hotpressed paper, cranked up the Dark Crystal OST and went on a new adventure.

First phase of sketching the layout. I tried to stay as close to existing maps as possible without giving up on my own style. ‘Luckily’...reference material is very rare and most of the layout and POI are found by reading lore and info.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	5AF69BD5-64CA-4729-BBAE-C760BD22BB96.jpeg 
Views:	61 
Size:	715.5 KB 
ID:	117197

Tinkering with mountain styles and inks. I’m trying to stay as close as possible to the concept art’s colours.

Name:	21C69C2E-43DF-4720-BB52-F2F34E288B3F.jpeg 
Views:	91 
Size:	521.0 KB 
ID:	117198

Inking the first elements (Mmmyes...I work outside in :-/ )

Name:	1BC5AA84-3179-4899-BF9C-AACD2B11CFE4.jpeg 
Views:	52 
Size:	476.6 KB 
ID:	117199

Name:	B70CE59D-1A9F-4E75-B188-E91FAAAE7B85.jpeg 
Views:	68 
Size:	716.4 KB 
ID:	117200

All in all it’s a fantastic project to work on and a nice learning curve

i love dark crystal. so far, i appreciate the detail on the mountain peaks!

Yes! Finally a new map from you. I'm unfamiliar with what this is based on, but I like hearing about things like A2 pieces of hot pressed paper, and seeing art supplies laying around. Are you using a small set of fine line prismacolor markers as well?

Quote Originally Posted by DrWho42 View Post
    i love dark crystal. so far, i appreciate the detail on the mountain peaks!
    Thanks Doc