Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How do I create a map symbol from an aerial foto?

Default How do I create a map symbol from an aerial foto?

There a plenty of freely available map symbols to be found, but sometimes you need something unusual, not included in the normal map packs.

With drones everywhere, it's not hard to get aerial fotos of most things, but hyperrealistic 4k fotos do not really match most symbol sets. So I wondered, those of you who have created symbols before, do you apply any filters or whatnot other than just cropping out the needed part? And if so, what tools do you use? Photoshop? Gimp? Something else?

I thought I'd ask for some advice before blindly fumbling with filters I do not understand - I'm a complete noob at image editing.

Guild Expert Facebook Connected Caenwyr's Avatar

Which type of map are you thinking of here? You mentioned high-res drone imagery, are you working on a topographic map at a huge scale? Or rather the other end of the spectrum: a whole continent, with icons for the cities and little else?

For my maps, I usually draw my own icons, and I prefer to keep them as minimalist as possible: in regional maps I mostly go for dots and squares for the settlements, and everything else is drawn by hand, and in city maps I prefer to work with numbers that refer to a table on the side. But maybe you're thinking of something else?
    Caenwyr Cartography

Check out my portfolio!

Sorry, I should have specified. Currently I'm looking at encounter map scale symbols.

The example, why this came up, is an encounter map I'm planning that should sport some standing stones or obelisks. But also all kind of historical structures like wells, sheds, walls etc. are of interest. Fly a drone over any historical site in europe and you'll have plenty of interesting stuff you could use in your maps