Guild Apprentice

Default My Next Project

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	lala.JPG 
Views:	58 
Size:	1.61 MB 
ID:	123671

Hi Everyone,

Here is a peek at my next project. I'm a bit new to mapping (started in 2019 with some hand drawn stuff) and this is by fat my largest map. If you could give me some feedback I'd be pretty happy

My thoughts:

I finished the land masses and sea contour and I like it a lot. I added some glow to the coastlines so that they can stand out from the sea and add some contrast between the desserts and the wave pressed coastlines.

The map does seem a bit noisy to me. what do you think?

I want to add a coordinate grid with longitude and latitude lines. I have no idea how to do this (yet...) if someone could point me in the right direction it would be a big help.

I want to do something a bit more creative with the map border but I'm not sure what to do yet. Ideas are helpful

also if anyone is looking for a map, I'm looking for new projects. Send me an e-mail at edwardhunt0001@gmail.com.

I'll keep posting here as I make some progress!

Peace,
    Edward

Guild Apprentice

Hi everyone,

Made some progress today. increased the image quality to 600ppi, added an L&L grid, Made the rivers fatter and added more, and continued to add detail.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	lala2.JPG 
Views:	45 
Size:	7.50 MB 
ID:	123693

Cheers,
    Eddie

Guild Apprentice

Not 100% sure how I feel about the grid.

I agree with you re: the grid. The graticule in your second post makes the map look like it's an orthographic-ish projection (or are you using a different projection / is this meant to be more abstract?) with the north pole tipped slightly toward the viewer, but the grid as drawn doesn't actually show the north pole like I'd expect. The graticule also would imply some pretty severe distortions along the edges, but the continents don't reflect that distortion.