Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: [WIP] Atlas Maps of Valmere | From Real-World Height Data to Vector Map

Wip [WIP] Atlas Maps of Valmere | From Real-World Height Data to Vector Map

Hi All,

I am starting work on a new continent from scratch, so this thread is going to be a sort WIP/guide/rundown of my process, starting with a continent landmask, already projected to equidistant conic.

Here is the landmass I will be working with:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	valmere_mask.png 
Views:	328 
Size:	190.9 KB 
ID:	124026

I'll need to finish up the coastline detail before I can continue with it. In the meantime, the next few posts will detail how and where I source my DEM data, and working with projections in GDAL from the command line.

Bonus: How I create the coastline in Adobe Illustrator:

Name:	PessimisticAmpleGeese-size_restricted.gif 
Views:	218 
Size:	770.6 KB 
ID:	124027

(Fair warning, my coastlines are not the best. I'm still studying real-world coastlines to get better at it)

Tutorial Links

* Downloading real-world DEM data
    * Managing a Fantasy World Map with GDAL
    Last edited by morne; 07-25-2020 at 04:27 PM.

It looks really good so far! The land mass looks natural. A lot of the jagged edges are indicative of rivers exiting to the sea, while the gulf/bays are smooth from erosion of circular water patterns.

Looking forward to seeing what you do with elevations!

IR

Tutorial Downloading DEM maps for use in Photoshop

This guide will show where to obtain high resolution DEM data and convert it using QGIS and command-line GDAL to a usable format for use in Photoshop. The data we will be downloading is best used for continental to global scale maps. The resolution is something like 40-230 meters per pixel, depending on the latitude. This data is what I use the create the heightmaps of my landmasses.

For this tutorial, we will assemble a full heightmap of Australia.

Downloading the Data from USGS