Thread: Greetings Cartographers!

Post Greetings Cartographers!

Hey, Cartographer's Guild!

First off, let me say – WOW! I initially joined because I wanted to commission someone, but after seeing all these incredible maps, I think I'll be sticking around for a while. I mean, who can resist all these lovely maps? 🌍

While I might not have the artistic touch many of you possess, I have a deep love for maps and GIS. Fun fact: I've even got a version of the Waterman Butterfly inked on my thigh!

A bit about my journey: I have a BS in Geology and an MS in Geographic Information Systems/Sciences (GIS). Over the years, I've played around with various geospatial tools. And here's the thing: I'm offering to share my knowledge completely free. Not because I'm an expert who knows it all but because I genuinely love maps and GIS. I remember how daunting these programs felt at first, so if I could help even one person feel more at ease, it'd make my day.

Products I'm familiar with:
    Open Source
    QGIS, MapServer, GeoServer, OpenStreetMap

Paid
    ESRI Suite: ArcMap, ArcDesktop, Online, Pro
    Harris Geospatial's ENVI

For those crafting fantasy maps, GIS has some nifty tricks up its sleeve:

Scaling: Adjust your map's size without losing detail.
    High Resolution: Enjoy nearly infinite in-suite resolution.
    Versatile Export Options: Export as vectors, shapefiles, or PDFs for further editing.
    Editing & Analysis Tools: From editing vector maps in QGIS to finding the perfect castle location.

To all the GIS enthusiasts here, let's geek out together! And to everyone else, keep those stunning maps coming. They're truly inspiring.

If you ever have questions or just want to chat about maps (because... MAPS!!!), I'm here.

Cheers,
    Rad

P.S.
    Linking the tutorial user pakpak made in 2021 because it was so good:
    https://docs.google.com/document/d/1..._vFtIQuCVkbt_s
    Here's the thread: https://www.cartographersguild.com/s...ad.php?t=49214

Blog Entries