Thread: Fantasy Forest map by a total beginner

Help Fantasy Forest map by a total beginner

Hi all,

I'm new to these lands and generally new to the world building/map drawing hobby, so please bear with me if I don't use the correct terms.

I've had this idea for a couple of weeks of drawing this fantasy forest map, but from what I've generally seen my concept is a bit different. All forests I've seen (and I've gone through quite a bit of maps on Reddit, this forum and other sources) have either been in very small scale (like they give you the idea that you could travel one side to the other in half an hour at most) or they were part of continent sized maps and therefore lack almost any detail, bar maybe the random elven capital.

As mentioned, my setting would be some sort of fantasy, maybe trending towards a grimdark tone similar to what you'd get in Warhammer Fantasy, with similar tech (but less gunpowder and more bows and crossbows), all sorts of monsters (werewolves, unicorns, dragons, trolls, etc.) and a few different races among the classic major ones (elves, dwarves, goblins, orcs, etc.).

The forest I have in mind would be a starting point in a bigger world, in my mind I see this forest as part of one of the human kingdoms or on border of one, therefore you'd have a lot of features relating to a human civilization such as a couple of villages - a fishing village near a lake perhaps and a hunting village deeper into the forest - maybe a tavern or two on the opposite sides of the forest where travellers can rest and buy some supplies before travelling through it, a hermit living in a cave somewhere, a convent and/or the ruins of one plus the cemetery, a wizards tower and/or the ruins of one, maybe a mercenary and/or bandit camp, a hunting hut, maybe on the outskirts of the forest some homesteads/farms, small shrines at crossroads.