Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: The Scribbler's Guide to Octerraca

Default The Scribbler's Guide to Octerraca

Octerraca, or the Eight Lands, is a project I've been working on since about 2009. The original map has since been zoomed in and had a few much needed reinterpretation of rivers and geography, and is now approaching a new horizon.

My sister gifted me this notebook a few holidays ago, and it's really cool because no matter where you are in the binding, it will lay flat. Perfect for mapping, I've decided to use it in conjunction with The Avori Lowlands to flesh out my former regional project, while producing maps for the region's cities and towns.

Finished Projects:
    Sledgeburrow

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	The Scribbler's Journal.jpg 
Views:	42 
Size:	4.79 MB 
ID:	129385

The overall model of this sketchbook is to disconnect myself from the idea of perfectionism that has plagued my progress as an artist for a long time. I've begun to realize the hindering factor it holds in my art, so I'm aiming to change my approach.

I want to bring speed to my process, while not sweating the small stuff, but maintaining the cleanliness of penmanship that I hold so dear, so here goes.

Name:	Sledgeburrow WIP #1.jpg 
Views:	110 
Size:	4.18 MB 
ID:	129386

"The town of Sledgeburrow began as a small trade hub dealing with the Sledgeburrow clan of dwarves that emerged from the western adjacent mountains shortly after the fall of the Auzari. Their mithril wares and jewelry were coveted by the sound mages to the south, as well as the academia driven sorcerers of the elven factions to the north, and so the clan flourished.