Thread: [ProArtist] Lack of response to an offer

Banned User

Default [ProArtist] Lack of response to an offer

Hi Everyone,

As most of you know, I'm pretty new to professional cartography, although not to professional art. Most of my art career has been creating art and then selling it, so the whole process of commission work is really new to me.

I've had a couple of cases where I applied for a project, supplied samples, made an offer, and then never heard from the person again. Once I even had that offer accepted, and then silence. Subsequent emails were never answered.

Is this common? I would think that most people would understand that we want to hear back, yea or nay, about offers. Do you think it's just general internet rudeness, or are people reluctant to tell you they've chosen someone else, or what?

When (if) this happens to you, do you follow up on it, by emailing and asking status? If so, what do you say about their failure to notify you of the outcome? Is there a good way to explain that this could be important to your time planning?

Cheers,
    Cornelia

So I've had a few experiences in which I've gotten most of the way through a commission and then my client went MIA. In two of the three cases I had already received about 3/4 of the payment (I ask for half of the money up front for just this reason). In each case I tried contacting my client and got no response. I don't know if my experience is prototypical or not, but there you have it.

I'd recommend being assertive and taking the initiative in contacting these clients again. If they don't respond, no harm done. However it might just be that they have had something major come up. I once had a client whose father died during a commission. Needless to say the project was no longer a priority for him.

Cheers,
    -Arsheesh

Banned User