Thread: Extremely stupid question...

Question Extremely stupid question...

For building a campaign, (world map, town maps, dungeon maps, etc.) can I make all of them in one program or would I have to use multiple different programs based on what I want to do? Also, what program would be best (I'm new here, sorry!)

It really depends on how you want to work, I think for the most part people stick to one program, ala Gimp or Photoshop, but it's not unheard of for people (myself included) to use things like Wilbur, GeoControl, World Machine, and sometimes 3D programs (Okay maybe that part is just me.).
    You should be able to stick with just Gimp or Photoshop, or even CC3 for mapping a campaign.

Thank you. Again because I'm new to this, is there anywhere I can get any of those for free? I know GIMP is free, but what about PS or CC3?

Banned User

Photoshop is the most powerful and versatile, but it's not free. It is however, much more affordable than it used to be, with the $10/month options for PS CC. Just do a search for Photoshop Creative Cloud and I'm sure you'll find the offers.

You can sometimes get older versions of Photoshop for free, and I'm reasonably sure it's legal but not enough to stake any money on it.

I used Paint Tool SAI to draw the original map of my world of Anuur, and then Photoshop for the texture version. I've also used SAI for other hand-drawn maps like the Tahnih Burrows and town sketches. You could use Photoshop instead (or GIMP for that matter) but I prefer the way SAI renders lines and brushes.

I've used Photoshop to make constellation maps of the night sky, a solar system, and city maps, too. It's got kind of a steep learning curve, especially compared to my old mapping/graphics software (Corel Paint Shop Pro 8 through X), but it's very robust and allows you to make a lot of different styles of map using layer effects.