Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: [WIP] Colouring Dullvo

Default [WIP] Colouring Dullvo

Hello,

Recently I posted a finished map of the town of Dullvo and a couple guild members asked for a coloured version. I have no experience with colouring maps so I asked around for some advice here.

Yesterday I started working on colouring the map and this is where I'm at right now. I'll be posting my process here and hope to get your comments, critique and feedback!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dullvo Colour 1.jpg 
Views:	182 
Size:	4.96 MB 
ID:	78495

Let me know what you think!

-Dan

[EDIT] I just realised this thread should be in Town/City Mapping and not Regional/World Mapping. Please move this thread to the appropriate subforum! Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by DanielHasenbos; 12-23-2015 at 09:49 AM.

Moved the thread for you.

I like that you've chosen relatively bright colours for this. I think I was half expecting the slightly more desaturated colours that Tainotim tends to use. The town itself looks absolutely wonderful. You could maybe try making the river a little bluer? It doesn't look at all bad as it is, and maybe too much blue would clash, but I think I'd like to see it with a hint more colour.

I'm really glad you decided to give colouring a try!
    "We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams"

It looks like this map is emulating the style of old town/city maps and I think it has succeeded really well. But instead of making the river a more saturated blue, I think maybe lowering the opacity on the other colours would match that style more perhaps. Either way great job!
    My new Deviant-thing. I finally caved.

Banned User

Your hues are very good, but I agree with Larb, most of the colors are too bright. I like the river, but I'd desaturate the rest of the colors to match it, so the whole map is gentle soft colors that blend with each other harmoniously.