Page 1 of 14 1234511 ... LastLast

Thread: The Road to Tiamis

Default The Road to Tiamis

This is my first attempt to complete a hand drawn map - pencil on paper style.

Not much can be seen right now, since I have a habit of starting at the top and working down the page, so the clouds are fairly well finished.

The central mountains are based on a photo I found online showing a place in the Dolomites - name not given, and the road in question is between Merrow and Tiamis, which are purely fictional places.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	The Way 01 DANIEL.JPG 
Views:	178 
Size:	1.23 MB 
ID:	90210

EDIT: Sorry about the bleached out centre - the flash went off, and without it I couldn't hold the camera still enough! LOL!

Wow! I love it already! Those are some epic mountains! Awesome sky too!

And heaven only knows how I'm going to shade them! LOL!

Thanks Matthew - and so that you know I'm not actually exaggerating anything, here is the original I found

Name:	Somewhere in the Dolomites.jpg 
Views:	90 
Size:	799.7 KB 
ID:	90211

Maybe someone in our multi-national community can tell me where this is, since if I ever have enough money to go on a holiday, I'd really like to go there. Its just so surreal with all those fields going right up to the edge of the world like that.

EDIT: From JPStod's UTube links (several comments below) I've managed to snatch the name from a very similar picture. This, I think, is probably Geisler... or then again from ChickPea's and Josiah VE's research its probably Val Gardena in the Tyrol
    Last edited by Mouse; 01-02-2017 at 08:51 PM.

I think they might be in Europe somewhere Mouse, perhaps Italy, I'm thinking in the region of Val Gardena in the Tyrol.

Guild Expert Facebook Connected Tonnichiwa's Avatar

This looks interesting. I can't wait to see what you do with what you've learned...I'm sure it will be great!

Hmmn...