Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tonnichiwa's Bookmark Disaster's

Guild Expert Facebook Connected Tonnichiwa's Avatar

Default Tonnichiwa's Bookmark Disaster's

I'm not very good at converting things mathematically so I have no idea if this is even the right size. But here is my try at a bookmark: This was done with a cartoon style and also a Pete Fenlon style.

### Latest WIP ###
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Bookmark Map.PNG 
Views:	54 
Size:	470.4 KB 
ID:	94651  

That's a lovely cheerful bookmark Tony

It's showing as being about 28 x 8 inches when I open it in GIMP, and only 72 dpi. Not sure what to suggest about that, but I'd start by raising the dpi (which will automatically make it smaller anyway)

Nice work, Tonnichiwa! About the size, your image is 2000x572px. For comparison, mine were 2100px x 600px (that was 7" x 2" at 300dpi) so you're broadly similar.

Mouse, about the dpi thing, I think Tonnichiwa's in the ballpark with his sizes, if you go with the pixel size. His image is 2000px long, which at 72 dpi would indeed give you a print size of approx. 28" (i.e. 2000 divided by 72 = 27.7777). However, if you divide 2000 by 300(dpi), you'll get 6.6667" - a lot closer to bookmark size. But isn't this a printer setting, rather than something that needs to be adjusted within an image editor? For what it's worth, when I opened Tonni's image in Gimp, it showed the resolution at 300dpi, and the size as 48.43 x 169.33mm, which translates to approx. 1.91" x 6.66". I must have something set differently in Gimp from you.
    "We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams"

Well isn't that a mystery.... hmmm

When I open it in GIMP myself on the default settings for everything (because I'm such a newb with GIMP I haven't got around to changing anything yet) it opens at 72 dpi, and would require a piece of A3 paper to print! LOL!