Thread: Fraedhron Map

Map Fraedhron Map

This is a map I made digitally, in hand drawn antique style. I'm only just starting to make digital maps, so critique would be preferred.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Fraedhron.png 
Views:	169 
Size:	1.42 MB 
ID:	95467

That's a great first try, LC

I'm not an expert in hand drawn digital, since I tend to use Campaign Cartographer and have only recently ventured into the confusing domain of GIMP, but I think I would be right in suggesting that you could use a much larger image size so that the lines were not so pixelated - especially around the coastline.

It might also be worth hand drawing the 'ripples' around the coast as faint suggestions, rather than doing them automatically as solid lines.

EDIT: I've repped you too recently to be able to rep you again so soon!

Guild Expert

I think overall the map looks pretty good, but the lines are way too pixelated, what size did you choose for this map?

And since you're asking for critique, it's obvious that you used the same tree over, and over, maybe try varying the size, and shape just a touch, also they seem slightly tipped to the right.

I actually don't mind the generated water lines, I think they suite this style it's just the pixelation that's bugging me in those, and maybe turn down the opacity a touch. I find it helpfull when doing this type of water lines to give it just a slight blur, not too much just like 1 or 2 pixels can help it look less digital.

The other thing that I think would improve this greatly would be keeping you're lines somewhat consistent, the mountains are sort of being overshadowed by the coast, and trees right now, and I think that making the mountain outlines more prominent or the coast and trees less it would make a big difference and help balance things out.