Thread: Carathrace: My first entirely computer-drawn map project

Map Carathrace: My first entirely computer-drawn map project

So, I've been working on this in this WIP thread: https://www.cartographersguild.com/s...ad.php?t=39878

It is my first attempt to draw a map entirely on the computer. I've tried and re-tried a number of times as can be seen in above thread.
    I'm posting it here now because I've accepted this as my "final" version of this learning project, not because there aren't things that can be improved -- especially my mountains, I think -- but because I want to start taking what I've learned on this and begin working on maps more important to my writing projects. I'd still love any feedback/critique on this that could make my map work better. Overall, I am pleased with this result.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Carathrace.png 
Views:	180 
Size:	3.25 MB 
ID:	102751
    Last edited by Naen; 12-29-2017 at 01:12 AM.
    Collaborative Storytelling and Worldbuilding
    Freeform fantasy and sci-fi
    www.LostPathway.com

Guild Expert Guild Supporter Greg's Avatar

Hi Naen! I missed the WIP on this one, but great to see you posting in here.

My first thoughts are really just tying to flesh out the landmass a tiny bit more. I like the parchment texture you've got going, but there still seem to be large open spaces unoccupied by anything which feels a bit strange. It's nice for maps to have room to breathe, but equally I think a little more wouldn't hurt, be it the odd tree, hill or some texture lines.

I'm not really going to critique your linework hugely, as these things largely come with practice. With your mountains, you've got a great start with their overall shapes and adding in some shading. If you have access to a graphics tablet, or something that allows pressure sensitive drawing, that can add a lot, by allowing the mountain lines to taper off into the land a bit more, but equally that's down to taste and style.