Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: [NEED ADVICE] What is the ballpark price range for getting a map designed?

Help [NEED ADVICE] What is the ballpark price range for getting a map designed?

Hi everyone,

I am a University student studying in Melbourne and have recently been hired by an author to design a map for his fantasy novel. This is my first professional project so I don't really have any idea of what kind of payment I can expect. Hence, I was hoping you guys could help give me some idea! I am quite new to the forums but so far I have been both amazed and inspired by the work I've seen around the forums and am excited to learn some new techniques from you guys!

Thanks for your help!

have recently been hired by an author
    And the price has not been decided yet?
    The price will depend on the kind of map, size, quantity of details and talent of the artist.
    Without knowing this, it could be anywhere from 50 to 500$.

I'm about to break a taboo here but heck.

Here are my low prices for standard size maps without fancies.
    - 150 € for a black & white map.
    - 250 € for a parchment with few colors.
    - 350 € for a full color map.

If the map is larger, I ask for more. If there are illustrations needed, this is extra too.

If the client needs the rights to the map, he has to pay extra and I'm talking multiples of the base price.

With these kind of prices, I lose a lot of commissions (maybe it's because I'm not good enough but I'm not bad either) and I still think my prices are not high enough.

I'd recommend not to go lower than that. You can also set yourself an hourly rate and estimate the time needed to complete the map but all in all, the one thing not to forget is that you sell art, not beans, it comes at a price.

My two cents (sic).

Professional Artist Guild Supporter Wired's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by ThomasR View Post

If the map is larger, I ask for more. If there are illustrations needed, this is extra too.