Thread: Interested in re-stylized maps for the Tomb of Annihilation Module

Guild Novice Facebook Connected

Default Interested in re-stylized maps for the Tomb of Annihilation Module

I am interested in getting a re-stylized collection of maps made for the Tomb of Annihilation module. I am using Roll20 as a VTT platform for the players. Is it legal to commission someone to re-stylize maps and create new maps for the module? I can provide examples of the map style I am looking for.

I don't want to sound depressing but the maps are likely protected by a licence. Usually, you can redo your own version but it is illegal to sell or distribute. New map might be ok if the content is new, it denpend on the what is on the and the specific licence.

I am not a lawyer, do not take this as a legal advise, it is my understanding of the situation and each licence is different.

I would think that if it was just for yourself at your own table and NOT being sold or even shared or posted online for free, you could probably get away with it. As soon as you start to make things public you get into legal territory. Artwork and writing and music are all copyrighted, so use of such things outside what is granted in the particular licence for the product or item could be seen as theft of IP. I am also not a lawyer and offer only my thoughts, but I think it best to err on the side of caution with such things.

Default Tomb

Quote Originally Posted by Azélor View Post
    I don't want to sound depressing but the maps are likely protected by a licence. Usually, you can redo your own version but it is illegal to sell or distribute. New map might be ok if the content is new, it denpend on the what is on the and the specific licence.

I am not a lawyer, do not take this as a legal advise, it is my understanding of the situation and each licence is different.