Thread: What size should I make online maps?

Default What size should I make online maps?

Hi All,

I'm thinking of converting some of my maps for online gaming use (Roll20, Fantasy Grounds, etc). Does anybody know if there is a general recognised resolution and/or dimensions for using maps online or is it platform dependent?

Hi PaperGriffin,

at first I'm no Pro in Virtual Tabletops, I just startetd to think about the use. So I have just a very small overview and might be wrong. As far as I see it seems to be depending on the plattform. Roll20 for example has 140x140 pixels per square (https://roll20.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/...etplace-Assets). OneBookShelf instead is telling you to have squares of 70x70 pixels (https://onebookshelfpublisherservice...top-VTT-Assets). If you want to get an overview of VTTs, this might hepl and maybe you will find out more there: http://rpgvirtualtabletop.wikidot.com

What's important to note about Roll20 is it will break by 10mb, so ideally you want your images to be way smaller than that, and it will also break at a certain width and height, so you want to stick to reasonable sized squares and rectangles for maps. It did NOT work to do a super long narrow map for example.

Click my banner, behold my art! Fantasy maps for Dungeons and Dragons, RPGS, novels.
    No obligation, free quotes. I also make custom PC / NPC / monster tokens.
    Contact me: calthyechild@gmail.com or _ti_ (Discord) to discuss a map!

I`m also looking for an answer to this question but there is no answer yet

Blog Entries

I think the answer is that there is no general or absolute value to the size of tokens to use.