Thread: Looking for Recommendation - Basic Drafting Table Setup

Default Looking for Recommendation - Basic Drafting Table Setup

Good morning, Guild!

I'm just getting started in some pen & paper methods of map-making, and I'm looking for recommendations from the experts. Specifically, I'm looking to see if anyone has a recommendation for a basic/simple drafting table they would recommend for the hobby. I have gotten a set of pretty awesome Faber Castell graphite pencils and some pretty great erasers to go with them. I'm just missing the workspace to use them in.

Sure, I have a couple of tables to work on in the house, but I've seen some very nice, angled drafting tables out there that I imagine are a dream to work on. I just don't know where to look for one of my own.

So, how do you folks go about your map-making adventures? I know plenty of you use digital-only mediums, so I'm open to those ideas as well.

Thanks in advance!

Exciting being at the beginning of a new hobby.

I'm mainly digital and even if you end up going digital yourself, a good foundation with pen/pencil on paper will be invaluable. I'd simply say use whatever desk is available and get started. Once you know you're into it then invest in a specific table.

Alternatively you could just use a decent adjustable table easel, which also has the advantage of leaving you a flat surface to put you implements on without them rolling away.

Thanks for the replies, folks. I'll keep an eye out for an adjustable table easel.

Would you recommend something more like this, or more like this?