Thread: Regional Map for a Novel

Default Regional Map for a Novel

I'm an aspiring author looking to commission someone to draw a map for my novel. Its a fairly small area and I only need it in black and white, so I'm hoping to pay somewhere in the realm of $25-$30 on it. I've included a rough version of the map that I've drawn myself so you can get an idea of the approximate scope of what I want.

Let me know if you're interested and we can talk more in detail.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Map.jpg 
Views:	121 
Size:	5.77 MB 
ID:	128693

Blog Entries

Your map is not bad , i have seen a lot worse
    --- 90 seconds to Midnight ---
    --------

--- Penguin power!!! ---

Professional Artist Guild Donor Sapiento's Avatar

Which dimensions for the map?

Do it again, by tracing with light underneath it, in pen on fresh paper without erasing marks and instead of writing the names, put the names on after you photograph it. To be fair this is a very simple map likely at a 8.5x5.5 size, thereabouts... not even half of a printer paper... I probably COULD do it in an hour, though certainly doing small little towns can choke up a lot more time than that, and knowing that, I wouldn't risk it for this biscuit. $75 is about as low as I go for a commission for a one page novel map.

But I think you might find it really rewarding if you have a second go at it, your draft has some good energy, I think you could finish it nicely if you did a meticulous tracing and filled in a few more details, then put text on digitally instead (or hand letter very carefully). Oh, and when you do that, add an exit for the river from the lake to the sea, unless it does vanish underground...

Click my banner, behold my art! Fantasy maps for Dungeons and Dragons, RPGS, novels.
    No obligation, free quotes. I also make custom PC / NPC / monster tokens.
    Contact me: calthyechild@gmail.com or _ti_ (Discord) to discuss a map!