Thread: My first attempt at city mapping

Wip My first attempt at city mapping

I discovered this website a week ago when I started looking into worldbuilding. Mapping looked like one of the most fun aspects of worldbuilding to me so a few days ago, after browsing the guild for a while, I started drawing. My first attempt at a map was atrocious, so here is my second ever map and my first ever city map. I definitely need to draw some more buildings and more trees, but the general outlay of the map is done. I'm really looking forward to all your tips and tricks on how to improve and one day maybe become as good as you guys. Especially suggestions on how to improve the water and trees would be great! Also, what do you use to scan your maps and what formats do you use to lose as little quality as possible?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Trutena Hand sketch.png 
Views:	88 
Size:	323.9 KB 
ID:	89881  

Guild Apprentice

As you saw my other drawing, I am not too far down the line from you. So if you continue with pen/pencil and paper drawing I recommend using a ruler, I hadn't in some of my previous drawings (not on this site), and the quality vastly improves. I also think having a narrative, even a short one, is so important for cities/towns since they have such little context outside of buildings being placed along a road.

I submit this humbly, and I look forward to see you (and myself) improve
    "I've heard that before, from the thing I said just now" Stephen Hughes

Quote Originally Posted by UrbaNick6 View Post